This is How it Always is by Laurie Frankel
'A very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think.' Liane Moriarty, author of TRULY MADLY GUILTY and THE HUSBAND'S SECRET. All happy families arealike. But happy can be complicated... Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a warm, touching and bittersweet novel about a family that's just like any other - until it's not. For readers of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY. Rosie and Penn always wanted a daughter. Four sons later, they decide to try one last time - and their beautiful little boy Claude is born. Life continues happily for this big, loving family until the day when Claude says that, when he grows up, he wants to be a girl. As far as Rosie and Penn are concerned, bright, funny and wonderful Claude can be whoever he or she wants. But as problems begin at school and in the community, the family faces a seemingly impossible dilemma: should Claude change, or should they and Claude try to change the world? Warm, touching and bittersweet, THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a novel about families, love and how we choose to define ourselves. It will make you laugh and cry - and see the world differently. Review by Ilse Scheepers Claude is the youngest son in a family that is already blessed with four boys. He is a bright, kind, thoughtful five year old - and he also wants to grow up to be Poppy. Frankel herself has a young daughter who began life as a boy, and there is no mistaking the voice of a parent who loves their child deeply and unconditionally, but who also fears for their future in a world where they may not always encounter such kindness and acceptance. About the AuthorLaurie Frankel lives in Seattle with her husband, son and border collie. Before becoming a full-time writer, she taught literature, writing and gender studies at a US university. Her previous novel, The Atlas of Love, has been highly acclaimed: 'This beautifully written debut offers something...    
show more
+ Shipping: $6.95
$25.50
Similar Offers
This is How it Always is by Laurie Frankel
This is How it Always is by Laurie Frankel only $21.99 from Mighty Ape more info
$21.99
+ Shipping: $4.90
This Is How It Always Is
Rosie and Penn always wanted a daughter. Four sons later, they decide to try one last time - and their beautiful little… more info
$32.99
FREE shipping